Books · inspiration · Reader

Five Books That Changed Me

I’ve seen this on other blogs and I wanted to do it too. It was sort of hard for me. I started writing a list and then ended up with too many books and had to decide why I should pick one book over another. So I might look back on this one day and think I should have chosen differently. But there are a couple I will always choose. It mostly focuses on fiction from when I was a child. Although I’d gladly read any of these again and again as an adult, and I have.

1. Little Women

image

This was probably the first classic I read when I was a little girl. I just loved(and still love) it. Sisterly love. Plays and imagination. I have a sister too. There was also loss, which hurt my heart and reminded me to love family. I’ve had this copy since 5th or 6th grade!!

2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

image

This was my first fantasy story. I was probably ten when I read it? It was everything I ever wished to imagine about, and it opened the floodgates of my imagination, along with the rest of The Chronicles of Narnia. I was not the same after reading them. I imagined suddenly showing up in Narnia sometimes. My aunt (now in heaven) supplied me with this series and helped me discover fantasy.

3. The Farthest Away Mountain

image

Another older, magical fairytale. My aunt let me borrow it when I got deep into my love for fantasy. It creeped me out a little at first but I couldn’t stop reading. I just bought this old copy to have on my shelf because I reread it as an adult and still loved it.

4. Island of the Blue Dolphins

image

My teacher read this aloud to us when I was in 6th grade and it really stuck with me. I learned more about isolation and perseverance. I wondered if I’d ever be able to do what Karana did. I was mesmerized by the descriptions of whale bones and a tsunami. It was terrifying and based on a true story.

5. Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America

image

This is non-fiction about two guys who pretended to be homeless and traveled across the US to experience life that way. They shared how often they were overlooked and ignored. They talked about the addictions and mental illnesses that prevented some from having a more normal life. They tried to bring hope to people without giving away their true identities. There were some good experiences too, with people who helped them. But it changed me in how I deal with people who hold signs on the side of the road or are homeless. I have more grace toward them. I am more willing to give to them, even if I don’t know what they’re really using the money for. Giving eye contact and a smile if not anything else lets them know they’re not invisible. There is a theme of faith in this book.

My list may seem random to some people, but these books have influenced me. If you’d like to make a similar list, please do!

Leave a Reply

