Book covers · Book review · Books · Reader

Book Review: The Heart of Betrayal

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles, #2)The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I sort of want to wait to do a full review after I read the final installment of this trilogy, which comes out Aug 2nd!

This series has really drawn me in. There aren’t magical acts happening all around (at least not before our eyes?) so it’s not like my other recent favorites Uprooted or The Grisha Trilogy in that way. Much of the world seems ordinary. But there are stories of other times and people with abilities. The fantastical is possible, even if not obvious. I’m in my mid thirties and I really enjoy the pacing of the books. I am not sure what all teenagers would feel while reading.

Lia has a special power brewing in her as a first daughter, it’s called knowing, the knowing of things before they happen. She still can’t make it happen whenever she wants. It seems unpredictable. And now she is having visions or visits from a long dead person who prophesied about Lia’s life and purpose.

Lia is held captive by the kingdom of Venda in this book. She stops thinking every citizen there is a barbarian after spending time with the people, but I’ll say that the leadership and the lowly citizens do not share the same integrity.


Less of a magic filled fantasy, this is like a mystery, love story, ancient world feeling, mesmerizing story to me.
The prequel to this book is
The Kiss of Deception, also fantastic.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: The Heart of Betrayal

Leave a Reply

