Books · Family life · Reader · Writing

The Autumn Reading Tag

imageLaura tagged me to do The Autumn Reading Tag! I can’t wait until we have more of a chill in the air. It’s still slightly warm here. I’m sure that will change soon, along with the color of the leaves. I enjoy wearing layers and scarves and all that. Part of it might be that I’m self-conscious, and modest, so what better time to layer up with soft sweaters and cute jackets, without dying of sweat? Can’t wait to hide the flab! 😉

The questions…

Are there any books you plan on reading over the autumn season?

Yes! I really need to focus on reading books from my bookshelf that have been sitting there, waiting patiently for me to read their beautiful stories. Some of those would be Cogheart, Book Scavenger, Tuesdays at the Castle, Cinder, and The Enchanted Wood.

September brings back school memories: what book did you most enjoy studying? And what were your favourite and least favourite school subjects?

When I was in sixth grade, our teacher read Island of the Blue Dolphins to us. We didn’t study it exactly, but I enjoyed it so much. It’s still one of my favorites. In high school, I enjoyed when we studied Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Much Ado About Nothing,  and Romeo & Juliet. The reason I enjoyed them was our teacher helped us understand the language! Otherwise we would have sat there very, very confused. They were probably the most “edgy”, dramatic stories I had read in my life at that age.

My favorite subjects were Science related, especially Oceanography which was only an elective class. But we got to go to the Florida Keys on a class trip, stay at “Sea Camp,” and snorkle and explore. (I lived in Florida for much of my life) I considered Marine Biology and Human Biology for my college degree. (But alas, went with Sociology instead, because I like learning how things work, even societies.) While I love History now, in high school I found it very dull. I’m not sure if I should blame bad teaching? Because now, I can’t get enough of learning about the past. It excites me.

October means Halloween: Do you enjoy scary books and films? If so what are some of your favourites?

I don’t enjoy scary/horror books or movies! I like suspenseful thrillers and adventures and dramatic stories. But I don’t enjoy graphic violence or disturbing images. But if there is a hint of creepy uncertainty, then a story can really pull me in.

With November it’s time for Bonfire Night & firework displays. What’s the most exciting book you’ve ever read that really kept you gripped?

Since I’m in the US, we don’t have Bonfire Night. But I can still answer! Although I’m finding it hard. When I first read The Hobbit years ago, it hooked me in and I couldn’t stop reading. In recent times, one of the children’s books that gripped me was The Fog Diver.  For Young Adult, The Grisha Trilogy wins.

What book is your favourite cosy comfort read?

I have to choose The Chronicles of Narnia. I’ve re-read them more than any other books. Also The Farthest Away Mountain by Lynne Reid Banks. Harry Potter wasn’t around when I was young, and by the time I read them I was an adult. So I love them, but for cozy memories it’s different.

Curled up with a good book, what is your hot drink of choice?

Before 6 p.m., coffee with cream. But since I can’t just drink caffeine after that time anymore, unless I want sleeping troubles, it’d be strong, decaf black tea with half&half creamer and a drop of honey.

Any plans you’re looking forward to over the next few months?

My birthday is this month! So October is always fun. We are in our new city, and will see how the trick or treating scene is here. There are two pumpkin patch/corn mazes nearby and we are definitely going to do that this month. We will also see my family during a visit. I hope to revise my fantasy story enough that I could query soon. (Soon means within a couple months!)

Thanksgiving will be here at the end of November. We usually travel that time of year to India. Last year we went to London on the way. Oh how I wish we were again! With school for my son and everything, it’s hard to plan a long trip this year. But we’ll see! And then comes Christmas. A wonderful time of year!

Thank you again Laura! You should go read her delightful answers. I really enoyed writing this so I am going to pass it along to others! It’s fun to read varied answers.

I am going to tag:

R.J. Garcia at Writers and Wallflowers, A.Y. Chao, and Flavia the Bibliophile! No pressure to post it or tag others, but even if you write a variation of this post, please let me know since I’d love to read it! If you weren’t tagged, I hereby tag you, so please come share your link if you do it! I can’t get enough of the Autumn posts.

 

2 thoughts on “The Autumn Reading Tag

Leave a Reply

