Book review · Books · Middle grade fiction

Two 5 star Book Reviews: A Nearer Moon -and – The Many Reflections of Miss Jame Deming

A Nearer MoonA Nearer Moon by Melanie Crowder
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a short read, and I loved it! I enjoyed it even more than I thought I would.

The story revolves around love between two sets of sisters, and a cursed swampy area. I did enjoy the Perdita chapters more than the Luna chapters, but the way the story intersected was wonderful.

I have a sister (no brothers), so this felt very relatable for me. The emotions got me right in the gut! Readers looking for light fantasy and family bonds will enjoy this.

The Many Reflections of Miss Jane DemingThe Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming by J. Anderson Coats
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reading this historical story was such a good journey. I started out uncertain, because it wasn’t quite what I had expected. About the first 100 pages of the story entails Jane’s travel from New York to Washington Territory (before it was Washington State) by ship. But part of Jane’s personal development happens during that time.

Then she finally arrives in Seattle, and it’s not at all what she was expecting, after reading a pamphlet a bumbling shyster had made to convince people on the East coast of the US that they’d really want to move to Seattle and pay him money to get there. But sometimes the things we don’t expect turn out to be what we really need.

I loved the character of “Mr. W” with Jane and all of that development! Almost made me misty eyed during certain parts. You’ll just have to read to see what I mean.

Added both stories to my favorites shelf!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

