Books · inspiration · Writing

Things to Do While Querying Your Novel: Part 1

Hello everyone!

After a very long writing process filled with revisions and critiques, I’m at the point where I’ve decided to finally start querying my children’s story.

For the past year and a half, I’ve read all about needing patience and thick skin while querying. I’ve tried to brace myself for the journey and remind myself to stay the course. There’s a lot of encouragement out there about not giving up.

I wanted to share ideas of what I can actually do while querying, to have other things to focus on. These ideas may help others, too!

1. KEEP WRITING

2. READ

3. SUPPORT OTHER WRITERS

4. ORGANIZE YOUR POSSIBLY NEGLECTED HOUSE CLOSETS (just me?)

5. CREATE INSPIRATION BOARDS

6. DE-CLUTTER YOUR HOUSE

7. PLAN A TRIP (day trip or nights away)

I think I’ll talk about each idea in-depth in a series of posts.  I’m sure I’ll add more to the list of ideas, and they may not resonate with everyone. But I hope it encourages others out there to remember to focus on other parts of your life.

My cleaning list items are there for several reasons: We moved into this house in Feb ’17, then we visited my in-laws and relatives in India about a month later. I feel like I never caught up with getting everything in order. My setting-up-house was focused on outer appearance. Walls decorated in most rooms, getting my books on bookshelves (of course), making things feel cozy and warm. But I neglected the hidden insides.

If you don’t mind me getting overly reflective, I realize it’s sort of like writing a story. Big, obvious things written down first followed by lots and lots of layering, adding depth to the story and organizing the plot’s “closets”. Sometimes I want to leave the closets alone! Just ignore that mess, ignore that plot hole, since the rest of the house/story is looking decent. There’s pretty art up on the walls and a comfortable sofa. But when it comes down to it, we have to organize every bit of our story so it makes sense. And I really need to organize my closets at home for my own inner peace!

Just writing this out has helped my mind feel more relaxed about this querying journey.  Maybe it’ll help someone else too! I’ll write more soon about each idea for occupying time, mentally, while querying.

5 thoughts on “Things to Do While Querying Your Novel: Part 1

Leave a comment